Sub – Saharan African Cities

Sub – Saharan African Cities: A Five City Network to Pioneer Climate Change Adaptation through Participatory Research and Local Action

Project Details
Organisation(s) involved: Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI), International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and the Department for International Development (DFID)
Project Objective/ Description: This project aims to address the knowledge, resource, capacity and networking gaps of five Southern African cities by strengthening their ability to plan for, and adapt to, the impacts associated with climate change.
Location: SThe five urban centres chosen for this project are Cape Town, South Africa, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania; Maputo, Mozambique; Walvis Bay, Namibia; and Port St. Louis, Mauritius
Contact: Priscilla Rowswell,